HomeNewsWilliam Wilson announced as new Cricket Ireland President

William Wilson announced as new Cricket Ireland President

William Wilson announced as the new Cricket Ireland President

A day before the start of the ODI series against Bangladesh, the real big change in the Irish board. Former Brigade cricketer William Wilson took over as the new President of Cricket Ireland after the Annual General Meeting (AGM). William Wilson replaces the outgoing David Griffin. Will continue in the role of President of Cricket Ireland for the next 12 months.

Wilson holds the record for winning two Irish Senior Cups as a Brigade Cricket Club player. William started his cricket career at junior level for Foyle College. He went on to play for Crevedonnell Cricket Club in Derry/Londonderry, before moving to Brigade Cricket Club in 1982, playing under the legendary Roy Torrens. Royer eventually succeeded Royer as club captain following Royer’s retirement.

William was fortunate to play in an incredible five Irish Senior Cup finals, winning two of them – against Leinster in 1996 and against Limavady in 1999.

William retired from cricket in 2001. He then began working as a selector for the North-West and was also appointed as a representative of the Irish Cricket Union’s cricket committee. He was appointed North-West Irish selector during Adrian Birrell’s tenure as Ireland coach and for two seasons alongside Phil Simmons.

After being announced as Cricket Ireland’s new president, William said: ‘It is very exciting for me to be president of Cricket Ireland, to represent the North-West Cricket Union, and to be the third member of my club, the Brigade, to receive this honor following on from the late David Todd and, of course, more recently, to receive this honor. of honor Wishes to remember the late Roy Torrance.’



Also Read: PTV Sports Live


Most Popular