New Zealand Cricket Announce ODI Squad for Sri Lanka Series 2023

New Zealand Cricket Announce ODI Squad for Sri Lanka Series 2023

New Zealand Cricket has announced the Squad for the ODI series 2023 against Sri Lanka. The ODI series will start on March 25 2023. Kiwi cricketers who got a team in IPL are not staying in this series. Instead, they will play in the franchise-based league starting on March 31.

Tom Latham will lead New Zealand in the ODI series against the Lankans. Will Young and Tom Blundell return to the team? Blundell has been a regular member of the Kiwis’ Test team over the past year but has not played a white-ball match since the tour of Bangladesh in September 2021.

Two new faces in the announced team – batsman Ben Lister and Chad Bowes. Lister, who was called up to the ODI team for the first time, made his T20I debut against India last month. He played an inning of 42 runs off 24 balls in that match. Bowes may debut in international cricket.

Meanwhile, New Zealand’s Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Mitchell Santner, and Devon Conway have got a team in this year’s IPL. The Black Caps will play the series against the Lankans without them. Glenn Phillips, Finn Allen, and Lockie Ferguson are in the squad for the first ODI, even though Williamson-Southies did not play for the entire IPL series. These cricketers will leave for India after playing the first match (March 25).


New Zealand ODI Squad

Tom Latham, Finn Allen (1st ODI), Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (2nd & 3rd ODI), Lockie Ferguson (1st ODI), Matt Henry, Ben Lister (2nd & 3rd ODI), Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls (second and third ODIs), Glenn Phillips (first ODI), Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, and Will Young.



Also Read: PTV Sports Live