Comilla Victorians Wins BPL 2023 Title

Comilla Victorians Wins BPL 2023 Title For the Fourth Time 

Comilla Victorians beat Sylhet and wins the BPL 2023 title for the fourth time. After losing the first three matches of this season, Comilla won the title by winning 11 consecutive matches.  It was Imrul Kayes-led Comilla Victorians’ second and fourth BPL title in a row. Comilla also set a record for winning the most titles in BPL history.

Under the leadership of Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, the most successful captain of the national team, a Sylhet franchise reached the final for the first time. Sylhet Strikers also dreamed of winning the title of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) by stepping into the final but Sylhet’s heart was broken by Comilla Victorians.

After losing the toss and batting first at the Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Thursday (February 16), Sylhet scored 175 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs with half-centuries from Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Mushfiqur Rahim. Shanta scored 64 and Mushfiqur scored an unbeaten 74.

In reply, Comilla won with 4 balls to spare thanks to Charles’ unbeaten 79 and Liton Das’ 55. Apart from that, Moeen Ali’s 25-run innings came from his bat.

Comilla’s two openers Liton Das and Narain started the innings in a spirited mood after playing with a target of 176 runs. They scored 21 runs in 2 overs. Liton and Narine scored 21 runs in the second over of pacer Tanjim Hasan Shakib’s innings. Lytton-Shant hit 2 fours and sixes.

Pacer Rubel broke Comilla’s opening pair by attacking for the second time in the third over. He hunted Narine for 10 runs.
Spinner Linde dismissed Comilla captain Imrul with the first ball of the next over. Imrul caught Perera at long-on while hitting a six. He scored 2 runs in 3 balls. Linde took the maiden wicket by hunting Imrul.

Comilla fell under pressure after losing 2 wickets for 34 runs. In this situation, Liton and Johnson Charles of West Indies took the lead of the team. Comilla got 49 runs in the power play.

In the seventh over, Charles scored 12 runs with 1 four-six from Perera. Comilla’s run was 50 in that over. At the end of 10 overs, Comilla’s run was 86. Litton completed his half-century in the 11th over. He played 36 balls to complete his third half-century in this year’s BPL.

After the half-century, Lytton’s innings came to an end with Shant’s brilliant catch at square leg off Rubel. Litton’s 55 off 39 balls with 7 fours and 1 six. Charles-Lytton added 70 runs off 57 balls for the third wicket.

After Liton returned, Comilla needed 71 runs in the last 7 overs. Charles and Moin can take 19 runs in the next 3 overs. In such a situation, Comilla got 52 runs to win by taking 7 wickets in the last 4 overs. Comilla scored 23 runs in the 17th over by Rubel. Charles completed his half-century in 40 balls.

Comilla needed 21 runs in the last 2 overs. Charles scored 18 runs with 2 sixes and 1 four in the 19th over by Wood. In the last over, Charles and Moin picked up 2 balls in need of 3 runs. Charles became the best of the match by scoring an unbeaten 79 runs in 52 balls with 7 fours and 5 sixes. Moeen remained unbeaten with 25 runs off 17 balls with 2 fours and 1 six. Rubel of Sylhet took 2 wickets for 39 runs.