HomeNews5 Australian Cricketers to Win all Major ICC Titles

5 Australian Cricketers to Win all Major ICC Titles

Here are the 5 Australian Cricketers who played vital role in winning all the Major ICC Titles.

5 Australian Cricketers to Win all Major ICC Titles

After winning the World Test Championship (WTC), five Australian cricketers – Steve Smith, Pat Cummins, David Warner, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc – became the first to win all major ICC titles.

Australia won the ICC World Cup in 2015, the ICC T20 World Cup in 2021, and the World Test Championship in 2023, crowning them grand slam champions.

Having won five ICC World Cups, two ICC Champions Trophies, and one T20 World Cup, Australia was seeking the World Test Championship, the only significant men’s cricket title that had previously eluded them.

Australia won the final by an enormous margin of 209 runs, completing their collection of trophies in style. After Travis Head and Steve Smith’s magnificent centuries in the first innings, Scott Boland further diminished India’s chances of winning the championship.

Boland caused the initial damage with two wickets in the seventh over on Sunday, including the coveted capture of Virat Kohli, en route to 3-46 in 16 overs.

The right-arm pacer was not part of Australia’s original plans, but Josh Hazlewood’s untimely injury allowed for his unexpected inclusion in the starting eleven.

The 34-year-old seamer has secured a position in Australia’s starting eleven for Friday’s opening Ashes Test against England at Edgbaston.

“It felt pretty good to get Kohli out,” said Boland, who now has 33 wickets in eight Tests at a remarkable 14.57 average.

“I have been playing state cricket for Victoria for the past 12 years,” he added. “I have put in considerable effort, so playing international cricket and taking wickets is satisfying.”

India must now resume their quest for their first ICC title since 2013 despite reaching the finals four times.



Also Read: Watch PTV Sports Live


Most Popular